KPTZ Staff:

Station Manager – Kate Ingram – manager@kptz.org
Chief Engineer – Bill Putney – billp@kptz.org
Director of Programming – Larry Stein – larrys@kptz.org
Emergency Team Leader – Barney Burke – barney@kptz.org
Music Director – Ruby Fitch – ruby@kptz.org
News Director – Steve Evans – news@kptz.org
Production Lead – Taylor Clark – taylor@kptz.org
PSA Lead – Alex Henley – psa@kptz.org
Remote Broadcast / Automation Lead – Mike Carroll – mikec@kptz.org
Social Media – Lily Haight – lilyhaight@kptz.org
Spinitron / Logs Lead – Dave Long – davelong@kptz.org
Station Bookkeeper – Diane DiPrete – accounts@kptz.org
System Admin / IT – Rick Thomas – rick@kptz.org
Web Admin – Matt Woodward – matt@kptz.org
Underwriting Coordinator – Cris Wilson – underwriting@kptz.org
Web Editor / Production / Editor – Pat Rodgers – patr@kptz.org
—————————————————
Community Calendarcalendar@kptz.org
Entertainment Calendar – entertainment@kptz.org
General Inquiries / Listener Comments / Website  – contactus@kptz.org
Music Submissions – music@kptz.org
Public Service Announcementspsa@kptz.org

KPTZ Board Members:

Robert Ambroserobert@kptz.org
Colin Fodencolinf@kptz.org
Nat Jacobnatjacob@gmail.com
Nate Malmgrennate@kptz.org
Jacqueline Mentionjacqueline.mention@gmail.com
Monica MickHagerbuddingearthgardening@gmail.com
Ray Serebrinrayserebrin@hotmail.com
Dominic Svornichdominic.svornich@nafinc.com
Matt Woodwardmatt@kptz.org

KPTZ Board of Directors

Robert Ambrose (President)

Robert Ambrose moved to Port Townsend in 2014, after 23 years living in rural Alaska and working in various non-profit capacities. One criterion he used to decide where to immigrate was a small town with a community radio station. Robert has been a community radio enthusiast for three decades, introduced to its vibrancy via KPFA while living in the Bay Area. He moved to Talkeetna AK in 1993, just as KTNA signed on the air, and quickly became involved as a novice DJ. It was a golden opportunity to share his passion for music from the African diaspora and his rapidly growing collection garnered via his role as African music columnist for The Beat Magazine. Eventually, following years of volunteer activities as music director and board member for KTNA, Robert became general manager, and thus became intimately familiar with both the challenges facing small community stations, as well as the profound benefits provided to their communities. After integrating into KPTZ’s schedule with Rhythm Connection, Robert thought his experience in community radio might be an asset for its Board, and apparently the Board agreed. He joined the Board in April 2015.

Colin Foden (Past President and Founder)

Colin grew up in England on BBC radio and has never separated from the radio. He hopes that his experience with non-profit leadership, business management and technology will help build a station where we can hear friends and neighbors, listen to commentary on our area and feast on the eclectic sounds of this wonderful corner of Washington.

Colin served on the Board from 2007 to June 2018.

Nat Jacob

Nate Malmgren

Local web developer, DJ, volunteer, and community organizer in Port Townsend since 2011. Nate is passionate about music, community, collaboration, and making it all work together organically. His focus and motivations are intentional improvement, positive growth, and progress for all. He has many years of experience as a computer consultant and DJ in Austin and Berlin, Germany. In his limited free time, Nate enjoys the outdoors, traveling, music, film, and art with his wife Annalisa. He is involved with a number of local non-profit organizations and is very proud to be a contributing component to the KPTZ community.  Nate joined the Board in September  2015. 

Jacqueline Mention (Secretary)

Originally from Los Angeles, Jacqueline Mention moved to Port Townsend in 2010. Since moving here she has immersed herself in the community through her work as a freelance writer for The Leader and in her years working in operations at Centrum in Fort Worden. Jacqueline began her relationship with KPTZ in 2010 when she aided in the planning of the station’s launch party. From there she continued volunteering with the organization by helping with its graphic design, event planning, and even briefly hosting an interview show called “Meet my Friend”.  She served an earlier two-year term, after which she moved to Baja California where she owned and operated an espresso shop. Now back in the Northwest, Jacqueline is thrilled to be returning to the Board in 2018 and involving herself again with quality, independent, community radio.

Monica MickHager

In 1984, Monica choose Port Townsend as her new home to raise her young family. She has been a part of our PT community as a business owner of a landscaping company (Budding Earth Gardening), has raised 4 kids and has been an active volunteer in our schools, in causes she cares about, and on city community boards. She was Operations Manager for the PTFF for 12 years, she is currently on the Port Townsend Planning Commission. She started volunteering for KPTZ by helping to build our current radio station studio in 2011 and has participated in helping to coordinate our bi-annual fund drives.  Monica is looking forward to continuing to build KPTZ.   A top priority in her life is spending as much time as possible hiking this amazing peninsula we all live on and sailing the Salish Sea in the summer months with her partner Taylor.  Monica joined the Board in January 2018.

Ray Serebrin

Ray Serebrin was named the Director of the Jefferson County Library in June of 2002. He served in that position for 11 years, retiring in 2013. Before coming to Jefferson County, he worked for 23 years at the Seattle Public Library. Ray has won numerous awards based on his extensive knowledge of how to apply for awards. He also has worked at a flour mill, a Woolworth’s, managed rock and roll bands, and monitored and regulated a band of unruly semi-rogue chickens (two of whom he had to kill). Ray Serebrin began volunteering at Seattle’s first community radio station, KRAB-FM, in 1969. He was an on-air host and a one-term member of KRAB’s board of trustees over a 13-year time span. In 1992 he was awarded “The Lorenzo” golden plastic microphone trophy in honor of his contributions to the KRAB/Jack Straw Foundation as a Producer/Announcer. His name was misspelled on the award. He joined KPTZ in 2012. Ray’s program, The Midlife Crisis Dance Party, is a mixture of music, vaguely annoying comments, and hallucinatory features. In his spare time (when he ever gets any), he enjoys reading, writing, working in his garden and listening to music. He joined the Board in 2019.

Dominic Svornich (Vice President)

A life-long Pacific Northwest native, Dominic Svornich has been a Jefferson County resident since 2002. Music has been at the center of his life as long as he can remember. A musician since age seven, he has been playing, recording, mixing or listening to all styles of music his entire life; and since the first time he heard Seattle independent radio station KEXP (formerly KCMU), community radio has provided much of the fuel for that fire. Dominic is excited to bring that passion, as well as his experience in finance and with numerous area non-profit organizations, to his position on the KPTZ board. He works as a mortgage loan officer with New American Funding and co-owns popular cocktail bar and music venue Cellar Door with his wife Stephanie, handling music booking and working as a bartender and sound engineer. Dominic joined the Board in October 2016.

Matt Woodward (Treasurer)

Matt’s fascination with radio began when he built a limited-range FM transmitter from a Radio Shack kit as a child, running a radio station out of his parents’ basement. On a very clear day, and if they knew where to tune in, his immediate next-door neighbors on one side of the house might have been able to hear it. When Matt first visited Port Townsend in 2012, he happened to drive by the KPTZ building and tune in, and he’s been hooked ever since. He was an avid listener online until he moved to Jefferson County in 2014, when he immediately signed up as a KPTZ volunteer, editing and reading the KPTZ Calendar, and doing various tech and web work. In an age when the survival of the free press seems far from guaranteed, Matt firmly believes that community radio of, by, and for the people is vital to our safety and democracy. Matt joined the Board in 2018.

Website Credits

Graphic | Web Design donated by CodePress
Port Townsend photography donated by Jason Squire Photography
DJ host photography donated by Barney Burke, BurkeDigitalPix.com