Staff / Board

KPTZ Staff

Interim General Manager – Taylor Clark
Chief Engineer – Bill Putney
Founding Program Director – Larry Stein
Local News Producer – Jim Burke
Moving Logistics Coordinator – Karen Anderson
News Director – Steve Evans
Promotions Director- Genevieve Barlow
Underwriting Coordinator – Brenda Davis
Calendars Lead – Casey Dolan
Community Relations Lead – Chris Bricker
Emergency Team Lead – Nora Petrich
Log Building Lead – Karen Anderson
News Pioneer – Charlie Bermant
Our KPTZ MVP – Jerry “Mr Music” Osborne
Production Lead – Taylor Clark
Public Service Announcements – Randy Lyon
Remote Broadcast / Automation Lead – Mike Carroll
Spinitron Lead – Dave Long
Station Bookkeeper – Kim Jacoban
System Admin / IT – Rick Thomas
Technical / Web Admin – Matt Woodward
Web Editor / Production / Editor – Pat Rodgers
DJ Hosts (Live On-Air) –
Entertainment Calendar Events –
FCC / EAS / Legal Inquiries –
General Inquiries / Listener Comments / Website –
Music Submissions –
News Submissions –
Public Service

Board of Directors

Jon Pinnow (President)

After decades of visits to the Quimper Peninsula, Jon moved to Port Townsend in 2019. He has a long history in audiobooks and public radio, recording for the Library of Congress’s National Library Service since 1989, working at Colorado Public Radio since 2001, and freelancing occasionally with other public radio operations around the country. As a kid, he built quaint little towns out of Legos, pretending to work at an imaginary radio station. Now, he likes making music, crafting stories, listening for ravens and living in this quaint little town, helping out at mighty KPTZ. Jon joined the Board in August of 2023.

Monica MickHager (Vice-President)

In 1984, Monica choose Port Townsend as her new home to raise her young family. She has been a part of our PT community as a business owner of a landscaping company (Budding Earth Gardening), has raised 4 kids and has been an active volunteer in our schools, in causes she cares about, and on city community boards. She was Operations Manager for the PTFF for 12 years, she is currently on the Port Townsend City Council. She started volunteering for KPTZ by helping to build our current radio station studio in 2011 and has participated in helping to coordinate our bi-annual fund drives.  Monica is looking forward to continuing to build KPTZ.   A top priority in her life is spending as much time as possible hiking this amazing peninsula on which we all live.  Monica joined the Board in January of 2018.

Nat Jacob (Secretary)

Nat is a long-time KPTZ listener and DJ. His show, The Death of Comedy, has been alternately offending and entertaining the greater Port Townsend area since it first hit the airwaves in 2016. Nat spends his days defending indigent community members accused of crimes, and his evenings with his lovely wife, Ariel and their terrier Sonia. He enjoys Disc Golf, tabletop RPGs, and karaoke. He feels fortunate to live in the same community as the rest of his family. Nat joined the Board in June of 2019.

Christine Walsh Rogers (Treasurer)

Christine Walsh Rogers works for Glacier Bancorp and lives in Cape George. For many years she has supported local radio stations wherever she lived and after moving to PT in 2020, she began volunteering here. She is currently Lead Tabling Volunteer and Digital Music Assistant. She has been a board member of the Jefferson Healthcare Foundation and is also a board member of the PT Film Festival. She stays active exploring the beaches and forests of the Pacific Northwest. Christine joined the KPTZ Board in August of 2023.

Robert Ambrose

Robert Ambrose moved to Port Townsend in 2014, after 23 years living in rural Alaska and working in various non-profit capacities. One criterion he used to decide where to immigrate was a small town with a community radio station. Robert has been a community radio enthusiast for three decades, introduced to its vibrancy via KPFA while living in the Bay Area. He moved to Talkeetna AK in 1993, just as KTNA signed on the air, and quickly became involved as a novice DJ. It was a golden opportunity to share his passion for music from the African diaspora and his rapidly growing collection garnered via his role as African music columnist for The Beat Magazine. Eventually, following years of volunteer activities as music director and board member for KTNA, Robert became general manager, and thus became intimately familiar with both the challenges facing small community stations, as well as the profound benefits provided to their communities. After integrating into KPTZ’s schedule with Rhythm Connection, Robert thought his experience in community radio might be an asset for its Board, and apparently the Board agreed. He joined the Board in April 2015 and has served as Board President 2016 until the present.

Conner Bouchard-Roberts

Conner Bouchard-Roberts grew up just down the street from his bookshop in Uptown. After spending 12 or so years away he moved back to town in 2019. Amongst other things, he is the founder and publisher of local art-press, Winter texts, board-member of the Jefferson County Beacon, and a consultant with the Bureau of Livable Futures. Conner joined the Board in August of 2023.

Ethan Raup

Ethan Raup is currently Chief Operating Officer for KEXP in Seattle, where he has worked since 2014. During that time, he has been involved in guiding the station’s growth and cultural evolution, working to invest more in staff and active involvement in KEXP’s staff driven Racial and Gender Equity initiatives. Prior to KEXP, Ethan served as Director of Policy and Operations for Seattle Mayor Mike McGinn. Ethan joined the Board in January of 2022.

Editor / Production: Pat Rodgers
Graphic Design: Nate Malmgren
Admin: Matt Woodward
Port Townsend photography donated by Jason Squire Photography
DJ host photography donated by Barney Burke,