Booklovers' Cafe

Booklovers’ Cafe – Jacqueline Winspear, part 2

(First airdate: April 27, 2021) This month host Cris Wilson is pleased to speak with Jacqueline Winspear, author of the New York Times best-selling series, Maisie Dobbs. Originally from England, Jacqueline has been visiting our area. Part Two of these programs is all about the new Maisie Dobbs novel, The Consequences of Fear. As Europe buckles under Nazi occupation in October of 1941 we meet young Freddie Hackett, a message runner in the bombed streets of London, who witnesses an argument and then a murder. The theme of human fear echoes through the decades to today.

Booklovers’ Cafe – Jacqueline Winspear, part 1

(First airdate: March 30, 2021) This month host Cris Wilson is pleased to speak with Jacqueline Winspear, author of the New York Times best-selling series, Maisie Dobbs. Originally from England, Jacqueline has been visiting our area. In Part One of the interview, Cris and Jackie talk about the memoir published in November of 2020, This Time Next Year We’ll Be Laughing. Fans of Maisie Dobbs will appreciate the warmth, humor and unflinching honesty of this account that embraces three generations of Winspear’s family history. The reader will certainly understand the importance of real place, time, and characters that Winspear brings to life in her novels.

Bill Harley

(First airdate: January 19, 2021) Bill Harley, Storyteller, author and performer for all ages joins Cris to talk about his storytelling career, friendship with Pete Seeger. He also tells us a story for all ages about Finding Happiness. Personally Bill has brought Cris’s family much joy and laughter over the years.  His books and CDs can be found at billharley.com.

Elyse Guttenberg

(Airdate: December 22, 2020) Looking for a fantasy escape with a message? The Power We Share is one for the list. Cris talks to Elyse Guttenberg, an Alaskan writer, known for works set in Alaskan prehistory. Her latest book takes us into the world of Molly Sinclair, a pirate and craft-born witch, where magic is bought, packaged and sold. The book is perfect for fans of Ursula K. LeGuin.

Booklovers’ Cafe ~ William Hensley

(First airdate: November 24, 2020) William L. Iggiagruk Hensley is the author of Fifty Miles From Tomorrow: A memoir of Alaska and the Real People. Willy was raised to live the semi-nomadic life that his Inupiaq ancestors had lived for thousands of years. In his stirring memoir, he offers us a rare first-hand account of growing up Native Alaskan and, later in the lower 48, as a fearless advocate for Native land rights. In 1971 after years of tirelessly lobbying the United States government, he played a key role in a landmark victory that enabled the Inupiaq to take charge of their economic and political destiny. It doesn’t end there. Willy is truly a model for the power of one.

Booklovers’ Cafe ~ Faith Pray

(First airdate: September 29, 2020) Author and Illustrator Faith Pray joins Cris to introduce her first book, The Starkeeper. A beautifully illustrated children’s book that is a fable for our time that shows the effect caring, sharing, and connection can have on individuals and a community. It is altogether uplifting.

Booklovers’ Cafe ~ Christine Hemp

(First airdate: October 27, 2020) Port Townsend author, poet, speaker and coach Christine Hemp joins Cris to talk about her creative life and her first book Wild Ride Home: Love, Loss, and a Little White Horse, A Family Memoir. Reviews have called it a book of “kindness, compassion, love and resilience.” Despite stunning loss, optimism and a joy of life shine through.

Booklovers’ Cafe ~ Bill Porter #2

(First airdate: September 2, 2020) The Mountain Poems of Stonehouse. Listen to Bill recite the poetry and talk about his travels in China over three decades.  Why are poets so revered in China and even an illiterate farmer can quote passages?

Booklovers’ Cafe ~ Jennifer Gold #2

(First airdate: August 5, 2020) Cris and Jennifer AKA Nicole Person talk about her new novel Keep Me Afloat set right here in Port Townsend. While completely fictional, readers will recognize hangouts from Chimacum to Uptown, your favorite coffee shop and Art gallery, as well as all our happenings.  The characters span generations and their relationships will touch your heart.  

Booklovers’ Cafe ~ Bill Porter #1

(First airdate: July 1, 2020: Finding Them Gone: Visiting China’s Poets of the Past. Cris meets Red Pine AKA Bill Porter, translator of 20 books of ancient Chinese Poetry published by Copper Canyon. The conversation ranges from the Buddhist Heart sutra to Chinese Hermit Poets.  

Booklovers’ Cafe ~ Samantha Ladwig

(First airdate: June 3, 2020) Cris talks with Samantha Ladwig, owner of Writers’ Workshoppe and Imprint Books, about taking ownership of a much-loved institution here in Port Townsend. Samantha is offering a new audio book service and has many ideas for new workshops and guest authors to increase the community of writers and readers on the peninsula.  

Booklovers’ Cafe ~ Erica Bauermeister, House Lessons

House About a Book

(First airdate: May 6, 2020) Erica has written House Lessons: Renovating a Life, a memoir set in Port Townsend. She writes about the wonders and tribulations of renovating a house here in our City of Jesters and the changes her family undergoes during this time. As always, she and the book are totally engaging and authentic.  

Booklovers’ Cafe ~ Kira Jane Buxton

(First airdate: April 1, 2020) Kira’s novel Hollow Kingdom leads us into a post-apocalyptic Seattle. Our guide is a domesticated crow names S.T. who says “Life isn’t the same once you learn how deeply a tree feels.” It’s funny and irreverent, yet such a powerful warning for us all.

Booklovers’ Cafe ~ Dana Sullivan

(First airdate: March 11, 2020) Cris talks with author, educator, cartoonist, graphic designer, and humorist Dana Sullivan about his many books for children and young adults. Based on his life, children, dogs and travels, we discover that these stories are fun for all!

Booklovers’ Cafe ~ John Larison

(First airdate: January 29, 2020) Cris introduces the 2020 Community Read Author, John Larison and his book Whiskey When We’re Dry. Says the Seattle Times: “A smooth yet bracing Western yarn that both celebrates and subverts the romance of the Old West through more complex contemporary perspectives.”

Booklovers’ Cafe ~ Tamara Meredith

(First airdate: January 1, 2020) Cris Wilson talks to Tamara Meredith, Director of Jefferson County Library, about her life in libraries, what is special about Jefferson County Library, and what we can discover there.

Kate McDermott

(First airdate: December 4, 2019) Art of the Pie: A Practical Guide to Homemade Crusts, Fillings and Life. Says Dorie Greenspan, award-winning author of Dorie’s Cookies: “Baking from Art of the Pie is like having pie maker Kate McDermott at your elbow, encouraging, instructing and cheering you on. Whether you’re a seasoned pie hand or a beginner with more enthusiasm than skill, Kate’s got you covered.” In Kate’s kitchen in Port Angeles, Cris Wilson enjoys a chat all about her and her wondrous philosophy of life and cooking.

Jennifer Pharr Davis

(First airdate: November 20, 2019) Jennifer Pharr Davis is an American long-distance hiker, an author, a speaker, a National Geographic Adventurer of the Year, and an ambassador for the American Hiking Society. She has hiked more than fourteen thousand miles on six different continents. In 2011, Pharr Davis set the unofficial record for the fastest thru hike of the Appalachian Trail with a time of 46 days, 11 hours, and 20 minutes, an average of 47 miles a day. Cris talks with her about her book The Pursuit of Endurance: Harnessing the Record-Breaking Power of Strength and Resilence. We all need some of that!

Jennifer Gold

(First airdate: October 2, 2019) Jennifer Gold aka Nicole Persun talks to Cris about her book “The Ingredients of Us”.  Jennifer writes very believable, of the moment,  books about women and their flawed relationships.  This is a story about love, mistakes, second chances, and finding inner strength. 

Rachel Muller

(First airdate: September 4, 2019) Rachel Muller is a storyteller and children’s author from Ladysmith on Vancouver Island.  She spins us a tale on this edition of Booklovers’ Cafe. 

Jerry Osborne

(First airdate: August 7, 2019) KPTZ radio host Jerry Osborne joins CrisWilson to talk about his book Elvis: Like Any Other Soldier. It is a special 50th Anniversary edition commemorating Elvis’ army years. We have included recordings of young Elvis talking about his army experiences and some music that make this Booklovers’ broadcast unique.

Alea Carroll

(First airdate: July 3, 2019) Pacific Northwest author Alea Carroll talks to Cris about her book Silence the Echo. It is a genre-breaking page-turner – part science fiction mixed with fantasy and ecology thriller. There is even a young love triangle for romance fans.

Pam Houston

(First airdate: 6/05/2019) Nationally known and beloved author Pam Houston talks to Cris about her new memoir Deep Creek: Finding Hope in the High Country. This book is endlessly wise, funny, and full of heart, according to Tommy Orange author of There There.

Erica Bauermeister

(First airdate: May 15, 2019) Nationally known author and local favorite Erica Bauermeister talks to Cris Wilson about her new novel The Scent Keeper. In this intriguing and emotional story of family secrets and strengths, we follow a young woman growing up on an isolated island off the coast of British Columbia.

Richard Friedericks

(First airdate: April 3, 2019) Teacher, author and media producer, Richard Friedericks joins Cris wilson to talk about his book Windhorse Warrior.  The book offers an inside look at the struggles and aspirations of the Tibetan people during the 1950s.  Politics, romance and spirituality are all interwoven into this story of human aspirations.

Kathleen Dean Moore

(First airdate: March 6, 2019) Cris Wilson and Community Read author Kathleen Dean Moore talk about her first novel Piano Tide.  Set in a remote fishing village in Southeast Alaska, the intriguing and believable characters grapple with their environment on personal and existential levels.